A Fort Worth nonprofit dedicated to saving, sharing, and celebrating the Trinity River

By Nick Olivier, communications intern

When I moved to Fort Worth a year ago, I was amazed to see that the city’s reputation as a cowboy mecca was not exaggerated. I knew about the Fort Worth Rodeo and the Stockyards, but I was surprised to see that the country western way of life permeated the city. I soon found out about the nationally ranked TCU equestrian team, the Cowgirl Hall of Fame and the numerous horse shows at the Will Rogers Memorial Center. I guess they don’t call it Cowtown for nothing.

Horseback riding is not limited to the Stockyards. From the Stockyards, horseback riders have easy access to the Trinity Trails system, which can take them just about anywhere along the Trinity River. I was given a chance to ride from the Stockyards toward downtown Fort Worth and Heritage Park. It’s been about 19 years since I have last ridden a horse. I was seven years old and the first George Bush was in the White House. But I was excited about the opportunity to try something completely foreign to me, yet so natural for many Fort Worth residents.

It was a warm Thursday morning, so the trails were sparsely populated. But the horses were a pleasant surprise for those bikers, runners and walkers that passed us by. I was accompanied by Sarah Williams, a local horse enthusiast who has helped organize Mayfest and Fort Worth’s Fourth events. She brought two of her 30 horses, Buck and Twelve, for us to ride. She also owns 11 dogs, a couple longhorns and two parrots out at her ranch in Rome, Texas. Like many Fort Worth-natives, she grew up knowing others that owned horses and dreamed of one day having her own stable. Her husband shows cutting horses.

The Stockyards Stables offer Trinity River Trail Rides. See Fort Worth from a whole new perspective – atop a horse. They also offer a Trinity River Carriage Ride.

Click HERE to see photos of my horseback ride through Cowtown.

Have you ridden a horse on the Trinity Trails? Are you a city slicker eager to embrace the Fort Worth cowboy spirit? Or is visiting the Stockyards enough of an experience? Leave a comment to let us know.

Leave a comment